

Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee – 11 February 2019

Membership of Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups

Purpose: The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for

appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be

considered.

Content: This report is provided to facilitate any changes that

need to be made.

Councillors are

being asked to:

• agree the membership of Panels and Working

Groups, and any other changes necessary

Lead Councillor: Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme

Committee

Lead Officer &

Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Team Leader

Report Author:

Tel: 01792 637257

E-mail: brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk

Legal Officer:

Debbie Smith

Finance Officer: Paul Cridland

1. Introduction

1.1 In accordance with Council report 18 October 2012 when current scrutiny arrangements were agreed, the Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Equalities Inquiry Panel.

REMOVE Councillor Lesley Walton

Following this change the revised membership of this Panel will be 9:

Labour Councillors: 7

Mandy Evans	Hazel Morris
Louise Gibbard (CONVENER)	Erika Kirchner
Terry Hennegan	Sam Pritchard
Yvonne Jardine	

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 1

	-
Cucon Ionea	
Susan Jones	

Conservative Councillor: 1

Lyndon Jones	

2.2 Tourism Working Group.

ADD Councillor Cyril Anderson

Following this change the revised membership of this Panel will be 11:

Labour Councillors: 4

Cyril Anderson	Hazel Morris
Peter Jones (CONVENER)	Mike White

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 3

Mike Day	Susan Jones
Lynda James	

Conservative Councillor: 3

Lyndon Jones	Will Thomas
Myles Langstone	

Uplands Councillor: 1

opianae councilion :	
Irene Mann	

2.3 Anti-Social Behaviour Working Group.

ADD Councillor Cyril Anderson REMOVE Councillor Wendy Fitzgerald

Following this change the revised membership of this Panel will be 8:

Labour Councillors: 7

Cyril Anderson	Hazel Morris
Louise Gibbard	Sam Pritchard
Terry Hennegan (CONVENER)	Mo Sykes
Peter Jones	

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 1

|--|

3. Guiding Principles

- 3.1 When determining membership / conveners or agreeing any changes there are some key considerations for the Committee:
 - It is necessary for more than one political group to be represented on each panel / working group.
 - These bodies also need to be of a manageable size in terms of team working and effective questioning.
 - Good scrutiny practice places emphasis on respect for minority party wishes around both chairing of such bodies and the work programme.
 - Being fair and balanced in the appointment of conveners, when there is interest from more than one councillor, e.g. giving opportunity to those who have not acted as convener previously
 - A minimum of three members should be present at all meetings.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Appendices: None